64 Main Street, Room 21 Montpelier, Vermont 05602

Daniel Smith Executive Director Sortheast Do

Compact

Commission

OFFICERS

Mae S. Schmidle, Chair Peter Petrone, Vice Chair Douglas Morris, Secretary Colon Durrell, Treasurer

Northeast Dairy Compact Commission Monthly Meeting

Friday, May 11, 2001 - 10:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. - Marriott Hotel, Newport, Rhode Island

- I. Public Participation
- II. Introduction of Guests
- III. Consideration of Minutes of the April 11, 2001 meeting
- IV. Financial Statement: Month Ending March 31, 2001
- VI. Reports:
 - A. Chair's Report
 - B. Executive Director's Report
 - C. Committee on Administration Report
 - D. Committee on Regulations & Rulemaking
 - E. Committee on Finance

New Business

Recommendations of Committee on Administration Recommendations of Committee on Finance

Informational Review and Updates

- A. The Compact and Consumer Protection Division of Rhode Island
 Attorney General Sheldon Whitehouse (invited)
 Commissioner Jametta Alston
- B. Presentation on Open Space and Environmental Concerns
 Jan H. Reitsma, Rhode Island Department of Environmental
 Management Director (invited)
 Ken Ayars, Rhode Island Division of Agriculture Chief
- C. The Compact Price Regulation and the Rhode Island WIC Program Vice Chair Petrone, Rhode Island WIC Program





- D. Presentation by Rhode Island Food Security Coalition
 Donna LaVallee (invited)
- E. Rhode Island Dairy Industry and the Dairy Compact
 Louis Escobar, dairy farmer

Lunch

2001 Recognition Awards
Representative Stephen J. Anderson
Senator Kevin A. Breene

IX. Staff Reports

Congressional Impact Report
Dan Smith, Executive Director
Deb Brighton, Consultant
Price Regulation Review
Dan Smith, Executive Director
Supply Management Program Report
Tom Lehner, Staff Counsel
Carmen Ross, Regulations Director

- X. The Compact and its Impact on the Wholesale and Retail Markets
 Dr. Ronald Cotterill, Director, Food Marketing Policy Center,
 The University of Connecticut
- XI. Presentations by Rhode Island Congressional Delegation Designees
 Ian Lange from the office of Honorable Lincoln Chaffee
 Katherine Merolla from the office of Honorable Jim Langevin
 Nancy Langrall from the office of the Honorable Jack Reed
- XII. Announcements: Opportunity for individual state comments
- XIII. Adjournment

A second opportunity for public participation will occur immediately after a break for lunch. Members of the Public will need to make their own accommodations for lunch.